It Takes Two to Tango Sur

Hello dear readers! You may ask yourself, where the hellodolly have you been, No Olives? Well, between a summer vacation, searching for a venue for my 2009 wedding, and freelance writing projects (oh yeah, and a day job), I’ve been a busy lady. But, no excuses! My love for No Olives is recharged! Now, back to business…

Last Saturday, after a long day of wedding venue visits and in need of multiple drinks, good food and some fun, we sauntered over to Southport with a few friends to dine at Tango Sur. Tango Sur is an Argentinian steak house that’s as well-known for its fantastic food as it is for its huge popularity, no-reservations system and long waits on the weekend. After being told at 9 p.m. that a table would be ready for us in an hour and a half, we decided to pop into Que Syrah for a few bottles of red wine as Tango Sur is a BYOB establishment. Aaron is the sommelier of our family, and discussed the merits of a few bottles under $25 with the wine chick, who had that whole 1940’s pin-up girl meets tattoo artist vibe going on. Armed with libations, we headed outside to the Southport strip.

After spending the rest of our wait at a dingy sports bar conveniently located next door to Tango Sur, we finally received a phone call notifying us that our table was ready. The feast was about to commence. Now, I know, I’ve said I don’t eat meat, I do eat meat, I avoid meat, blah blah. Well these days, I’m eating meat a couple times a month, but still try to avoid it as much as I can. When I am in the mood for meat, I’m happy, thrilled, and eager to wait for hours for the succulent steaks at Tango Sur.

Tango Dancers, Photo By N-Root.

Once seated, we started our meat-fest with Empanadas con carne & pollo: flaky, Argentinian turnovers served with Chimichurri sauce. Our entrées came with unimpressive house salads (which I skipped completely to make room for the main course).

Empanadas, Tango Sur.

Aaron and I shared the Vacio: half a slab of range-grown flap meat, sliced and filled with olive oil, garlic, parsley, and sage, and cooked and served on a grill with sliced sweet potatoes. Grilling temperature is suggested at medium-the result is a buttery, mouth-melting mass of herbs and meat. I urge all Chicagoan meat-eaters to order this divine concoction, eat half and take the rest home to prolong the pleasure. Our friends ordered the Bife Vesuvio: grilled prime steak filled with spinach, mar del plata cheese and garlic in a white wine sauce, accompanied with Argentine style potatoes, and El Filet: range-grown filet mignon cooked on the grill, then topped with a red onion wine sauce and accompanied with spinach mashed potatoes.

Vacio, Tango Sur.

Bife Vesuvio, Tango Sur.

El Filet, Tango Sur.

Tango Sur
3763 N. Southport Ave.
Chicago, IL
(773) 477-5466

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

One response to “It Takes Two to Tango Sur

  1. As a graphic designer I did want to issue a comment to tell you that the design of this site is very aesthetically delightful. I was searching for quality sites with quality content. I have added you to my rss news feeder and expect to mention your post in my upcoming blog. I also have a list of subscribers whom i share pleasant posts from blogosphere.

Leave a comment